Recent News

Please click here to become an ITE member

Please subscribe to our emails here


Hassan Hashmi
Hassan Hashmi is the current Met Section co-chair for Young Members committee . He is a Traffic Engineer at SIMCO Engineering, P.C.
Mike Salatti
Michael Salatti, PE PTOE has been the Met Section Administrator since he stewarded its incorporation in 2008. He is a 35 year veteran at GPI serving as its Director of Transportation Services.
Lu Ding
Lu Ding, PE, PTOE is the co-chair of the Professional Development Committee and is a Senior Transportation Engineer at the New Jersey Sports & Exposition Authority.
Oluwaseye Akele
Oluwaseye Akele currently co-chairs the Younger Members Committee and specializes in Traffic Engineering at Maser Consulting, P.A.
Alfred Yeung
Alfred Yeung, PE serves as the co-chair of the Professional Development committee and is an engineer at VHB with experience in site redevelopment and transportation improvement projects.
Michael Collins
Michael Collins is the current Met Section Webmaster. Working at GPI he specializes in application development, GIS-based web solutions, and simulation modeling.
Warren Michelsen
Warren Michelsen is the membership chair for the Met Section. He is the Department Manager for Traffic Engineering / Transportation Planning at SIMCO Engineering.
Andy Kaplan
Andy Kaplan is a Leadership ITE Alumn, and active with the ITE Transportation Safety Council and ITE Advocacy Committee. Andy is the Assistant Manager at Agency Operations Center, PANYNJ.
Steven Eisenberg
Steven Eisenberg, P.E. serves on the ITE Met Section Executive Board. He is an Associate and Senior Traffic Engineer at L.K. McLean Associates, P.C.
Joseph Wilbur
Joseph Wilbur, EIT, is the liaison to the Rutgers student chapter of ITE. He is a traffic engineer at SIMCO Engineering.
Shawn Tang
Shawn Tang, PE, PTOE, PTP is a current Met Section Webmaster. He is a Senior Traffic Engineer at GPI.
Marvin Souza
Marvin Souza P.E. currently co-chairs the ITE Met Section Long Island arrangements and holds the position of Associate Project Manager at NYCDOT.
Anthony Mariani
Anthony Mariani co-chairs the Student Outreach Committee for the Met Section. He is an engineer on the Traffic Engineering & ITS team at Maser Consulting.
John Biront
John Biront, P.E., PTOE is Met Section Past President for 2014. He is a Traffic Engineer at the New Jersey Turnpike Authority.
Amir Rizavi
Amir Rizavi, PE, ENV SP is a member of the Met Section Executive Board. He also serves as the Vice Chair of ITE’s Transportation Consultants Council. He is the Director of Transportation Systems for VHB’s NYC office.
Paul Eng-Wong
Paul Eng-Wong is a past section, district, and international leader. He currently serves as the Chair of the Met Section’s Mentoring Committee and on the Executive Board of ITE’s Transportation Consultants Council.
Jeevanjot Singh
Jeevanjot Singh, PMP co-chairs the Government Agency Committee. She is the Program & Contract Manager for the Intelligent Transportation Systems – Resource Center at NJDOT. She is involved with Connected Vehicles, Smarter Work Zones Initiatives (EDC-3), SHRP2 L01/06 and other Arterial initiatives.
Tra Vu
Tra Vu, PhD, PE is a member of the Met Section Executive Board. She is the Technical Director of simulation modeling and visualization at GPI.
Adam Allen
Adam Allen, PE, PTOE, TSOS, IMSA II currently chairs the NJ Traffic Signal Consortium Committee. He is the 2013 Met Section Past President and a LeadershipITE alumni. He is Principal Associate at Maser Consulting P.A.
Marvin Gersten
Marvin Gersten is a former Principal Project Manager at Parsons Brinckerhoff. He is currently the Chairman of the Met Section’s Dr. Louis J. Pignataro Memorial Transportation Engineering Education Award.
Brad Miller
Brad Miller, PE, PTOE co-chairs the Mentorship Committee and specializes in ITS and Traffic Engineering at Michael Baker International.

Upcoming Events


2018 Past Presidents' Night at Club 101, NYC - Wednesday, January 17


  • Celebration of the Met Section Past Presidents
  • Induction of the 2018 Executive Board
    • Steven Eisenberg, President
    • Einah Reza Pelaez, Vice President
    • Andrew Kaplan, Secretary
    • Lu Ding, Treasurer  
    • Tra Vu, Past President
    • Amir Rizavi, Jr. Section Director
    • Luigi Casinelli, Sr. Section Director
  • Keynote Speech by Deputy Commissioner for Traffic Operations for the NYCDOT, Joshua Benson
  • 2017 Award Presentation
    • Ivor S. Wisepart Transportation Engineer Award – Paula Flores, FITE
    • Leon Goodman Distinguished Member Award – Andrew J. Saracena
    • Transportation Advancement Award – Cordell Schachter
    • Young Professional Award – Tra T. Vu, P.E.
    • ... and the Project of the Year winner.
  • Recognition of the 2017 Met Section Board and Committee Chairs

*Are you interested in participating in the Mentor Pairing? Please select Guided Networking Mentor or Guided Networking Mentee during registration.


Upcoming Events

We wish our dear members and friends best wishes for the Holiday season! We hope to see you at our Past Presidents' Night on Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at Club 101, Manhattan. 

  • February Luncheon Meeting. Thursday, February 15, 2018. The Mansion on Broadway, White Plains NY. 
  • Northeastern District Annual Meeting. May 21 - 23, 2018. Fort William Henry Hotel & Conference Center, Lake George, NY. Call for Presentations due by December 15, 2017.
  • Friday, March 2, Freight and Mobility Technical Conference (Afternoon), NYU, Brooklyn, NY
  • March 14, HCM Training, NYCDOT Bid Room, New York, NY