Recent News

Please click here to become an ITE member

Please subscribe to our emails here


Tra Vu
Tra Vu, PhD, PE is a member of the Met Section Executive Board. She is the Technical Director of simulation modeling and visualization at GPI.
Shawn Tang
Shawn Tang, PE, PTOE, PTP is a current Met Section Webmaster. He is a Senior Traffic Engineer at GPI.
Steven Eisenberg
Steven Eisenberg, P.E. serves on the ITE Met Section Executive Board. He is an Associate and Senior Traffic Engineer at L.K. McLean Associates, P.C.
John Biront
John Biront, P.E., PTOE is Met Section Past President for 2014. He is a Traffic Engineer at the New Jersey Turnpike Authority.
Marvin Gersten
Marvin Gersten is a former Principal Project Manager at Parsons Brinckerhoff. He is currently the Chairman of the Met Section’s Dr. Louis J. Pignataro Memorial Transportation Engineering Education Award.
Mike Salatti
Michael Salatti, PE PTOE has been the Met Section Administrator since he stewarded its incorporation in 2008. He is a 35 year veteran at GPI serving as its Director of Transportation Services.
Hassan Hashmi
Hassan Hashmi is the current Met Section co-chair for Young Members committee . He is a Traffic Engineer at SIMCO Engineering, P.C.
Andy Kaplan
Andy Kaplan is a Leadership ITE Alumn, and active with the ITE Transportation Safety Council and ITE Advocacy Committee. Andy is the Assistant Manager at Agency Operations Center, PANYNJ.
Michael Collins
Michael Collins is the current Met Section Webmaster. Working at GPI he specializes in application development, GIS-based web solutions, and simulation modeling.
Warren Michelsen
Warren Michelsen is the membership chair for the Met Section. He is the Department Manager for Traffic Engineering / Transportation Planning at SIMCO Engineering.
Marvin Souza
Marvin Souza P.E. currently co-chairs the ITE Met Section Long Island arrangements and holds the position of Associate Project Manager at NYCDOT.
Amir Rizavi
Amir Rizavi, PE, ENV SP is a member of the Met Section Executive Board. He also serves as the Vice Chair of ITE’s Transportation Consultants Council. He is the Director of Transportation Systems for VHB’s NYC office.
Lu Ding
Lu Ding, PE, PTOE is the co-chair of the Professional Development Committee and is a Senior Transportation Engineer at the New Jersey Sports & Exposition Authority.
Paul Eng-Wong
Paul Eng-Wong is a past section, district, and international leader. He currently serves as the Chair of the Met Section’s Mentoring Committee and on the Executive Board of ITE’s Transportation Consultants Council.
Adam Allen
Adam Allen, PE, PTOE, TSOS, IMSA II currently chairs the NJ Traffic Signal Consortium Committee. He is the 2013 Met Section Past President and a LeadershipITE alumni. He is Principal Associate at Maser Consulting P.A.
Jeevanjot Singh
Jeevanjot Singh, PMP co-chairs the Government Agency Committee. She is the Program & Contract Manager for the Intelligent Transportation Systems – Resource Center at NJDOT. She is involved with Connected Vehicles, Smarter Work Zones Initiatives (EDC-3), SHRP2 L01/06 and other Arterial initiatives.
Oluwaseye Akele
Oluwaseye Akele currently co-chairs the Younger Members Committee and specializes in Traffic Engineering at Maser Consulting, P.A.
Anthony Mariani
Anthony Mariani co-chairs the Student Outreach Committee for the Met Section. He is an engineer on the Traffic Engineering & ITS team at Maser Consulting.
Joseph Wilbur
Joseph Wilbur, EIT, is the liaison to the Rutgers student chapter of ITE. He is a traffic engineer at SIMCO Engineering.
Alfred Yeung
Alfred Yeung, PE serves as the co-chair of the Professional Development committee and is an engineer at VHB with experience in site redevelopment and transportation improvement projects.
Brad Miller
Brad Miller, PE, PTOE co-chairs the Mentorship Committee and specializes in ITS and Traffic Engineering at Michael Baker International.

Officers & Policies


Executive Board & Committee Chairs


Policies & Procedures


Tra Vu, Ph.D., P.E.
Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.
21 West 38th Street, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10018

(646) 791-8804
Vice President

Steven Eisenberg, P.E.
L.K. McLean Associates, P.C.
437 S. Country Road
Brookhaven, NY 11719

(631) 286-8668

Einah Reza M. Pelaez, P.E.
711 Westchester Ave
White Plains, NY 10604

(914) 993-2052

Andy Kaplan
4 World Trade Center
New York, NY 10007

(201) 240-4048 (C)
Past President

Amir Rizavi, P.E., ENV SP
One Penn Plaza, Suite 715
New York, NY 10121

(212) 857-7331
Jr. Section Director

Luigi Casinelli, P.E., PTOE
HDR, Inc.
711 Westchester Ave
White Plains, NY 10604

(914) 993-2032
(646) 413-0891 CELL
Sr. Section Director John Biront, P.E., PTOE
New Jersey Turnpike Authority
P.O.BOX 5042
Woodbridge, NJ 07095
(732) 442-8600 x2412
(973) 432-1578 CELL
Section Administrator Mike Salatti, P.E., PTOE
325 West Main Street
Babylon, NY 11702
(631) 761-7352
(516) 318-8529 CELL

Local Arrangement Chairs

North Jersey
Jeff Smithline, P.E., PTOE
Sam Schwartz Engineering

Tom Pagano, P.E.
Sam Schwartz Engineering

Lu Ding, P.E., PTOE
New Jersey Sports & Exposition Authority

Sydney Chan

(212) 598-9010 x119

(212) 598-9010 x142

(201) 460-3879

(973) 776-3725

New York City
John Miller, P.E.

Tom Pagano, P.E.
Sam Schwartz Engineering

Lihua (Emily) Zhang
(201) 723-6244

(212) 629-8380 x210

(212) 629-8380 x210

Long Island
Marvin Souza, P.E.

Abid Ansari, P.E., PTOE

Argenis Villanueva
Greenman-Pedersen, Inc.

(516) 214-8117

Westchester Arrangements Brian Dempsey, P.E., PTOE
TRC Engineer, Inc.

Michael O'Rourke, P.E., PTOE
Adler Consulting

(914) 592-4040

(914) 997-8510

Central Jersey
Amanda Feeley
Parsons Brinckerhoff

Krzyzstof Lukasik

Umer Nadeem

(609) 512-3496

(646) 791-8803

(732) 900-0555

Other Standing Committee Chairs

Web Site Michael Collins
GPI, Inc.

Shawn Tang, P.E., PTOE, PTP
GPI, Inc.

(646) 791-8814

(631) 761-7291

Newsletter Mohammed Masroor Hasan

Carson Qing

Christina Marzocca

Krzysztof Lukasik

Elaine Du

(646) 388-9545

(646) 791-8803

(646) 791-8803

(914) 993-2034

Professional Development Thomas Arlo, P.E., PTOE
Dunn Engineering Associates

Alfred Yeung, P.E.

Lu Ding, P.E., PTOE
New Jersey Stports & Exposition Authority

(516) 431-3811

(212) 857-7328


(201) 460-3879

Industry Richard Marsanico, P.E.
Traffic Systems, Inc.

Stanislav Parfenov
HDR, Inc.

(631) 242-4292

Student Outreach Anthony Mariani
Maser Consulting, P.A.

Tommy Kwong
Suffolk County

Pankti Metha

(609) 587-8207

(862) 236-1703

Mentorship Paul Eng-Wong, P.E.
VHB, Inc.

Brad J. Miller
Michael Baker International

(973) 693-4488
(973) 951-6040 CELL


Young Members Henry Chiang
GPI, Inc.

Douglas Das
L. K. McLean Associates

Hassan Hashmi
SIMCO Engineering


(212) 385-8100 x1616

Membership Warren Michelsen SIMCO Engineering

Denysse Roman
Louis Berger Group

Sandra Forte

(212) 385-8100 x1620

(973) 407-1571

(631) 787-3435

Technical Projects Shravya Markandeya, P.E, PTOE

Einah Pelaez, P.E.

HDR, Inc.



(914) 993-2052


Action Calendar Andy Saracena
(201) 248-3876
Pignataro Awards Chair Marvin C. Gersten, P.E.

Andrew (Andy) Kaplan

(201) 240-4048

Speakers Bureau Gordon Meth, P.E., PTOE, PTP

Lian Duan, P.E.

(973) 946-5670

(212) 896-3258

District Board Representative

Bill McMenamin, P.E.

(631) 761-7204

Transportation Education Jack Bringardner, Ph.D.

Kier Opie, P.E.
Cambridge Systematics

(646) 997-4058

(646) 364-5473

Government Agency Emad Makaraious, P.E., PTOE

Jeevanjot Singh, PMP

(212) 839-3130

(609) 530-8327